EAST CENTRAL KANSAS COOPERATIVE IN EDUCATION--INTERLOCAL #614

May 14, 2013 - Board Minutes

The regularly scheduled meeting of the East Central Kansas Cooperative in Education Board of Directors was held May 14, 2013 at Cooperative Central Office, Baldwin City, Kansas. Members present were Juanita Peckham, Susan Rader, Mike Kelso, Belinda Rehmer (arrived at 7:08 pm), Sandy Chapman, Chad Christie, Bill Neuenswander, Interim Director, Patti Bishop, future Director as of July 1, 2013 and Sue Martin, Clerk of the Board.

Juanita Peckham, Board President, called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm.

Public Comment

No public comments

Opening Business

Changes, Additions and Adoptions of the Agenda

No changes

Approval of the April 9th Regular Board Meeting Minutes and April 10th, 15th, 16th 17th, 23rd and 29th Special Meeting Minutes and Approval of Financial Reports and Disbursements

Mike Kelso made a motion to accept the minutes, financial reports and disbursements as presented. Susan Rader seconded the motion. It passed with a 5-0 vote.

Old Business

Certified Staff Recommendations for Policy Changes

Re: 188 Day Contract; May 1st deadline for notification of certified staff placement change

Bill Neuenswander recommended changing the certified contracts verbiage from:

The contract sum has been determined upon <u>188</u> days of employment, plus 2 additional days for new staff orientation. In the event this contract is terminated by either party by mutual agreement, and for whatever reason, prior to the end of the term herein stated, the total teacher's compensation shall be <u>1/188</u> ths of the contract sum times the number of days worked by the teacher.

To:

This contract will include the number of contract days required by the district (Baldwin, Eudora, or Wellsville) the ECKCE teacher is assigned, plus two additional days for ECKCE orientation and/or professional development. In the event this contract is terminated by either party by mutual agreement, and for whatever reason, prior to the end of the term herein stated, the total teacher's compensation shall be 1/188 ths of the contract sum times the number of days worked by the teacher.

Chad Christie made a motion to accept the verbiage change on the contract as presented and no change to Administrative deadlines for notification of placement change. Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

Employment and Placement of Paraeducators

The Cooperative will develop a Paraprofessional Employment process for district principals to follow when employing and placing paraprofessionals. No action taken.

2013 ESY Program

Bill reported that all positions are filled for ESY this summer.

New Business

2013-2014 Cooperative Calendar Start Date

Belinda Rehmer made a motion to approve the following 2013-2014 Coop Calendar start date as August 6, 2013. Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

Background Checks on Non Certified Staff

Chad Christie made a motion to approve background checks of non certified staff starting with new hires. Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

2013 ESY Agreements

Susan Rader made a motion to approve the following ESY Agreements:

Certified
Jessica Barker
Hillary Hoffman
Kristyn Rhodes
Jennifer Gomez

<u>Paraprofessional</u> Jennifer Decker Mallory Larsen

Belinda Rehmer seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

Letter of Continuation and 2013-2014 Approved Returning Certified Staff

Belinda Rehmer made a motion to approve the following list of certified staff for 2013-2014 contracts and the letter of continuation to be sent out to them:

Janelle Arb Jennica Hammerschmidt Holly Balch Barbie Hartwell Jessica Barker Jennifer Herrington Randi Barnett Vanessa Hoosier Laura Beaulieu Carol Hopping Deborah Bell Jessica Iverson Jean Bouse Michelle Johnson Ruth Burks Lauren Keeton Cheri Byard Janet Kelly Jamie Carey-Roecker Eloise Kerbs Laura Davids Barb Kessler

Jamie Carey-Roecker

Laura Davids

Charles Davis

Pam Davis

Janiet Kerly

Eloise Kerbs

Barb Kessler

Deanna Kessler-Miley

Claire Kueffer

Janet Delgado

Loretta Lauinger

Heidi DuBois

Katie Fender

Marcy Fergola

Justin Mayer

Melissa McCauley

Jennifer Gomez Linda (Nyhart) Normile Becky Goodwin Jean Osborn Charlotte Grimshaw Ty Pattison Rosemary Pratt Jan Prough Nicole Ramirez Jeanne Reese Abbey Vieux-Revell Kristyn Rhodes Pam Ridenour Judy Rose David Ross

Barb Garland-Schwering

Janet Slaven Lori Smith Stephanie Soden Linda Troutfetter Betsy Ulrich Sheila Vander Tuig Jill Venable Jana Wallen Janey Wiseman Andrew Wright Carol Wright

Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

Chad Motter

ECKCE Office Location

Bill informed the board that the ECKCE office may need to relocate and advised the members of possible options. No action at this time.

FY14 Budget

Ruth Foehringer

The board was given preliminary budget projections for review. No action at this time.

Health Insurance for Paraprofessionals

No action at this time until further information is acquired.

Director's Reports

• Bill informed the board of upcoming interviews for the last two open positions

Executive Session

Sandy Chapman made a motion to go into an executive session for 20 minutes at 8:20 pm with Bill Neuenswander for the purpose of discussing personnel matters. Chad Christie seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

The board reconvened into open session at 8:40 pm.

Mike Kelso made a motion to go back into an executive session for 5 minutes at 8:40 pm with Bill Neuenswander for the purpose of discussing personnel matters. Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with a 4-0 vote.

The board reconvened into open session at 8:45 pm.

Sandy Chapman made a motion to modify contracts for Richard Fergola and Carol Hopping as discussed relating to their administrative duties. Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with

a 6-0 vote.

Resignations

Belinda Rehmer made a motion to accept the resignation of Zack Rice, certified WEBS 6-12 teacher. Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Sandy Chapman made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Juanita Peckham seconded the motion. It passed with a 6-0 vote. The meeting was adjourned at 8:48 pm.

These minutes are subject to final approval at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting.

Respectfully Submitted By Sue Martin, Clerk of the Board