# EAST CENTRAL KANSAS COOPERATIVE IN EDUCATION--INTERLOCAL #614

#### June 11, 2013 - Board Minutes

The regularly scheduled meeting of the East Central Kansas Cooperative in Education Board of Directors was held June 11, 2013 at Cooperative Central Office, Baldwin City, Kansas. Members present were Juanita Peckham, Susan Rader, Mike Kelso, Belinda Rehmer (arrived at 7:07 pm), Sandy Chapman, Bill Neuenswander, Interim Director, Patti Bishop, future Director as of July 1, 2013 and Sue Martin, Clerk of the Board. Chad Christie was unable to attend.

Juanita Peckham, Board President, called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm.

#### **Public Comment**

No public comments

## **Opening Business**

## Changes, Additions and Adoptions of the Agenda

No changes

# Approval of the May 14th Regular Board Meeting Minutes

Sandy Chapman made a motion to approve the minutes as presented. Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with a 5-0 vote.

# **Approval of Financial Reports and Disbursements**

Susan Rader made a motion to accept the financial report and disbursements as presented. Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 5-0 vote.

#### **Old Business**

# **Approval of Paraeducator Employment Guidelines**

Susan Rader made a motion to approve the Paraeducator Employment Guidelines with corrections. Sandy Chapman seconded the motion. It passed with a 5-0 vote.

#### **ECKCE Office Location**

Patti Bishop, Bill Neuenswander and Superintendents will look at some possible options. No action taken.

#### ECKCE 2013-2014 Calendar

The Board approved ECKCE 2013-2014 calendar will remain the same even though the Baldwin District calendar has changed. No action needed.

## **Discuss Health Insurance Issues**

No action taken.

#### **New Business**

#### Approval of Certified Staff Contracts for Next Year

Sandy Chapman made a motion to approve 2013-2014 contracts for Nicolas Hofmeier, EHS Life Skills teacher; Kathleen McCall, WEBS 6-12 Program teacher; Meghan Othick, Baldwin SLP and Richard Fergola, WEBS 6-12 Administrator/Teacher. Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with a 5-0 vote.

#### Approval of Paraeducator Agreements for Next Year

Sandy Chapman made a motion to approve the following paraeducator agreements for 2013-2014:

Nicole Alexander Cathi Hamilton Jamie Peppers Christina Allen Julie Hamilton Gina Petry Pam Allen Lori Hevel Dianne Pittenger Amy Anderson Jackie Holtz Maggie Quirarte Amanda Arnold Amy Horton Kyra Ramsey Donna Asher Deb Howard Debra Reed Myrna Renoud Sarah Baska Glenn Jackson Caitlin Belt Cindy Johnson Janet Reynolds Jeanne Michelle Johnson Paula Bowlin Jamie Rickey Christina Brewster Chris Joly Angela Roberts Aurora Brune Alicia Jones Michelle Roberts

Karen Carlyle Susan Carnagie Sherry Christopher Anne Clancy Dawn Coffey Kaci Collins Bey Deardorff Nelina Dighans Jennifer Downey Lauren Durkin Heidi Elliott Kim Farmer Don Ferneau Perry Fletcher Cindy Foster Deb Galloway

Jeffrey Jones
Tyson Kelly
Lynn Killingsworth
Joe King
Jackie Lamson
Laura Linder
Jack Livella
Paula Mason
Shanaye McBride
Kaitlyn Meredith
Shawnna Midland
Christina Mignot
Anna Miller
Melodie Milliken
Lauren Moser

Margarita NeSmith

Kate O'Brien

Nicole Parks

Kristina Ormsby

Ashley O'Rourke

Stephanie Pascua

Trish Rood Ashley Roth Lisa Russell Tracy Russell Carol Sandburg Tina Schrock Janell Shalkoski Jason Smith

Suzanne Nelson-Smith
Dawn Strahan
Sarah Bailey Stuart
Courtney Taulbert
Amanda Trober
Rebekah Vann
Melissa Vertin
Joanna Vesecky
Kara West
Sandra Westgate
Christina Willis
Sarah Worrel

Brandon Goodwin Jeanene Goodwin Lisa Green Brian Hall

Amanda Garrison Cathy Gilges

Susan Rader seconded the motion. It passed with a 5-0 vote.

# **Approval of ESY Agreements**

Susan Rader made a motion to approve certified ESY agreements for Laura Beaulieu, Barb Garland-Schwering and Sheila Vander Tuig and an ESY paraeducator agreement for Cindy Foster. Belinda Rehmer seconded the motion. It passed with a 5-0 vote.

## Approval of Office Staff Contracts and Acceptance of Resignation

Sandy Chapman made a motion to accept the resignation of Brenda Clark; approve contracts for Sue Martin, Brenda Mundinger and Kelly Schwartz, MIS Clerk. Susan Rader seconded the motion. It passed with a 5-0 vote.

#### **Approval of Bert Nash Agreement**

Susan Rader made a motion to approve the 2013-2014 agreement with Bert Nash Center. Belinda Rehmer seconded the motion. It passed with a 5-0 vote.

Discussion of Additional Certified Staff and Paraeducators as Recommended by Principals No action taken.

# **Review Budget Considerations for Next Year**

Mike Kelso made a motion to approve the proposal to increase paraeducator salaries 35 cents per hour for the 2013-2014 school year. Belinda Rehmer seconded the motion. It passed with a 4-1 vote. Sandy Chapman voted Nay.

# **Director's Reports**

- Bill discussed the excessive use of discretionary leave
- Bill gave board members a revised paraeducator job description for their review

#### Adjournment

Sandy Chapman made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mike Kelso seconded the motion. It passed with a 5-0 vote. The meeting was adjourned at 8:54 pm.

These minutes are subject to final approval at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting.

Respectfully Submitted By Sue Martin, Clerk of the Board